Dictionary of Jewelry Terminology

Moh's Mineral Hardness Scale

Terminology. Dictionary. Encyclopedia. Jargon. Lingo.

Introduction to Moh's Mineral Hardness Scale

This article is about, "Moh's Hardness Scale." We will try to explain what it is, what it does, and how it is used in the jewelry industry.

"Friedrich Mohs, a German mineralogist, was born Jan. 29, 1773. In 1812, Mohs became professor and curator at the Joanneum Museum in Graz, Austria, where he worked out his famous hardness scale for minerals. The scale is defined by ten minerals, numbered from 1 to 10, each of which will scratch the minerals below it. So talc is hardness 1 and won't scratch anything. Calcite (3) will scratch gypsum (2), but is scratched by quartz (7). Corundum (9) will scratch nearly anything except diamond (10)." – Linda Hall Library

Deciphering Gem Durability: Unveiling the Mohs Mineral Hardness Scale in Jewelry

When it comes to the allure of gemstones, there is more than meets the eye. Ever pondered over the endurance of certain gems? Will generations to come enjoy this same gem? Who held and appreciated this gem before us? That is where the Mohs Hardness Scale comes into the spotlight – a tool that bridges the gap between novice admirers and gem experts. Let us embark on a journey into this intriguing realm, uncovering the fascinating world behind this scale that influences our jewelry choices.

Understanding the Mohs Hardness Scale

Imagine a ruler, not for measuring length, but for assessing resilience. The Mohs Mineral Hardness Scale ranks minerals and gemstones based on their hardness – their resistance to scratching or abrasion. With diamond at its zenith, scoring a perfect 10 as the hardest known substance, and talc at its base, scoring a soft 1, this scale unveils the intriguing spectrum of gem durability.

Relevance of Hardness in Jewelry

Gemstone hardness directly affects their endurance against daily wear and tear. A harder gemstone stands strong against scratches and damage, making it an ideal choice for jewelry pieces that withstand constant friction. Consider a sturdy gemstone like sapphire for an engagement ring that endures daily activities, while a softer opal may shine in earrings or pendants that face less stress.

Practical Implications

The Mohs Mineral Hardness Scale is not a mere academic concept; it wields practical significance for both jewelry enthusiasts and professionals. Diamonds and sapphires, with high rankings, take the spotlight in engagement rings, securing lasting beauty. Meanwhile, gems like pearls or emeralds, though softer, showcase elegance in less demanding settings.

From Novices to Experts

Whether you are a jewelry enthusiast or a seasoned gem aficionado, the Mohs Scale is your guiding star. For admirers, it is part of the roadmap to selecting enduring jewelry. Gem professionals rely on it for evaluating gemstone robustness during appraisals and identifying gem materials during examinations.

A Gemological Compass in Your Hands

As you traverse the world of jewelry, let the Mohs Hardness Scale be your guiding compass. It uncovers the hidden strength of gemstones, aiding in informed decisions about your cherished adornments. From daily accents to heirloom treasures, the Mohs Scale illuminates the enduring brilliance of the gem world.

Mohs Hardness Scale Chart

Mineral/Gemstone Hardness Note
Diamond 10
Corundum/Sapphire 9
Topaz 8 A masonry drill bit is approximately 8.5.
Beryl/Aquamarine, Morganite 7.5 - 8.0
Spinel 7.5 - 8.0
Quartz/Amethyst, Citrine 7
Chalcedony/Agate, Onyx, Jasper 6.5 A steel nail is approximately 6.5.
Feldspar 6
Apatite, Obsidian 5
Flourite 4
Coral, Phosphophyllite 3.5 A copper U.S. penny is 3.5.
Calcite 3
Ivory 2.5 A human fingernail is 2.5.
Amber 2.0 - 2.5
Gypsum 2
Talc 1

Note: The Mohs Hardness Scale ranks minerals and gemstones from 1 (softest) to 10 (hardest) based on their resistance to scratching.

Back to the Dictionary of Jewelry Terminology.